Woods hailed Club Champion in premiership year

Noosa Tigers General Manager Mitch Woods has taken out the Rococo’s Bar and Bistro Noosa Tigers Senior Club Champion award at the end of year awards night held at the club on Friday 13th September.

The ever consistent midfielder polled in all but two games to run out victor over skipper Aaron Laskey who has been runner up the past three seasons. Prior to the night’s vote count both Laskey and Woods were considered the two favourites along with Jai Fitzpatrick and Riley Buntain who tied for third. Woods (as usual) was more thankful to his team mates whilst still enjoying the premiership memories from a fortnight ago which as he said ‘will stay with him forever’.

Skipper Aaron Laskey spoke beautifully about what it meant to him to hold up the premiership cup and have a bond with this group of blokes forever. He paid tribute to coach Adam Bovalino whom he described as just an awesome mentor. Ryan Torrance took home the Reserves ‘Best and Fairest’ from Darcy Sullivan whilst big Tyson Williams wowed the crowd with his speech in accepting the Reserves ‘Best Finals Player’. Laskey won the seniors ‘Best Finals Player’ whilst Mitch Woods took out the Stay Noosa media award.

Geoff Tarling received the ‘Clubman of the Year’ award again for his outstanding services to the club whilst Wendy Tickner took out the prestigious John Bain Memorial Trophy for her on going work. A new trophy in honour of the late Bones Murray (who was a Tiger legend) was awarded to triple senior premiership player and the ‘Most Inspirational Noosa Tiger’ for 2019 in Peter Trompf – a very worthy recipient.

Two life membership awards were given out with Scotty McKenzie and Anton Mogg rewarded their on going service to the Noosa Tigers AFC.

A great night had by all! The club rooms looked awesome and as usual the dance floor was pumping! Winners are Grinners!

Leave a Reply